President of India confer Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) and Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship (Akademi Ratna) for the Years 2022 and 2023.

Key Highlights of the News

  • The General Council selected 94 artists from the field of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/ Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts for Akademi Puraskar.
  • The General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, New Delhi, unanimously elected six (6) eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Ratna. 

About Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellowship & Award

Akademi Awards:

  • The Awards in Hindustani and Carnatic music were instituted as early as in 1951, even before the Akademi was set up and these were known as Presidential Awards. 
  • With the formation of the Akademi the Awards came to be known as Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards and the investiture became the responsibility of the Akademi. 
  • Presidential Awards for 1952 and 1953 were later incorporated into the list of Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards.
  • It carries purse money of Rs. 1.00 lakh, a Tamrapatra and an Angavastram.

Sangeet Natak Akademi

  • It founded in 1953 as an autonomous body under the Ministry of Culture for preservation and promotion of the vast intangible heritage of India’s diverse culture expressed in forms of music, dance and drama.
  • The Chairman, appointed by the President of India, serves a term of five years.
  • The Akademi’s functions are outlined in its Memorandum of Association, adopted in 1961, establishing it as a society.
  • The management of the Akademi is vested in its General Council.

Akademi Fellowship 

  • The first Fellow of the Akademi was elected in 1954, and, till date the Akademi has honoured 153 eminent personalities as Akademi Fellows.
  • The award conferred irrespective of nationality, race, caste, religion, creed, or sex.
  • Criteria: individuals below the age of 50.
  • Recommendations come from General Council of the Akademi.
  • Fellowship carries a purse of Rs. 3.00 lakhs, a Tamrapatra, and an Angavastram.

Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar: 

  • It instituted in 2006, recognizes young artists.
  • 80 young artists to be given Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for the years 2022 & 2023.
  • It carries a purse money of Rs. 25,000/- (Rupees Twenty-five Thousand Only) besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

Also Read:

Regional Conference on Strengthening of PESA Act 1996