The online nominations/recommendations process for the Padma Awards 2025 began on May 1, with September 15 as the last date.

Key Highlights:

  • The nominations/recommendations for the Padma Awards will be received online on the Rashtriya Puraskar Portal (
  • The government aims to transform the Padma Awards into “People’s Padma” by encouraging nominations from all citizens, including self-nomination. 
  • Intensive efforts may be made to identify talented persons whose excellence and achievements deserve recognition from amongst women, weaker sections of the society, SCs & STs, divyang persons, and who are doing selfless service to the society.

Padma Awards

  • The Padma Awards are one of India’s highest civilian honors, instituted in 1954.
  • The awards are announced on the eve of Republic Day (January 26th) every year.
  • The awardees receive a certificate (a Sanad) signed by the President and a medallion.
  • The total number of awards to be given in a year (excluding posthumous awards and to NRI/foreigners/OCIs) should not be more than 120.
  • The award does not amount to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the awardees’ name.


  • To recognize and celebrate outstanding contributions of individuals in various disciplines.
  • To inspire future generations to strive for excellence.
  • To showcase India’s rich diversity and achievements across fields.


  • Padma Vibhushan: Highest civilian award, for exceptional and distinguished service.
  • Padma Bhushan: Distinguished service of a high order.
  • Padma Shri: Distinguished service.


  • Awarded in various fields including: 
  • Art (including music, literature, theatre, etc.)
  • Social service
  • Science & Engineering
  • Medicine
  • Sports
  • Civil Service
  • Public Affairs
  • Trade & Industry
  • Education & Academics


  • All persons without distinction of race, occupation, position or sex are eligible for these Awards. 
  • Government servants including those working with PSUs, except Doctors and Scientists, are not eligible for Padma Awards.
  • Posthumous awards are possible (in exceptional circumstances).

Nomination Process:

  • Open to the public.
  • Nominations submitted online through the Padma Awards portal.
  • Self-nominations are also accepted.
  • Detailed information about the nominee’s achievements and contributions is required.

Selection Process:

  • All nominations for the Padma Awards are reviewed by the Padma Awards Committee, which is formed annually by the Prime Minister.
  • The Committee is chaired by the Cabinet Secretary and comprises the Home Secretary, Secretary to the President, and four to six distinguished individuals.
  • Final approval by the President of India and Prime Minister.
  • The awards are presented by the President of India.

Also Read:

RBI Strengthens Borrower Protection Measures