Recently, Ruskin Bond has been awarded the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship.

More on the news

  • Ruskin Bond was named a recipient of Akademi’s highest honour in September 2021. 
  • But due to his ill health, the Sahitya Akademi president and secretary recently gave the award to him at his Mussorie home.

Sahitya Akademi Fellowship

  • It is the highest honour conferred by the Sahitya Akademi on a writer by electing him/her as its Fellow.
  • This honour is reserved for ‘the immortals of literature’ and is limited to twenty-one writers only at any given time.
  • The first Sahitya Akademi fellowship was given in 1968 to Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (1888-1975), former President of India.

The Sahitya Akademi

  • It was formally inaugurated by the Government of India on 12 March 1954.
  • The Akademi functions as an autonomous organisation. 
  • It was registered as a society on 7 January 1956, under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.
  • Besides the 22 languages enumerated in the Constitution of India, the Sahitya Akademi has recognized English and Rajasthani also.
  • Akademi gives 24 awards annually to literary works.

About Ruskin Bond

  • He was Born on May 19, 1934, in Kasauli, Himachal Pradesh, and has been active in the world of writing for more than 50 years, he is an eminent contemporary Indian writer of British descent.
  • His works include fiction (Short-story collection), non-fiction, novels, autobiographical work, essays, and stories.
  • Till now he has written over three hundred short stories, essays and novels, over thirty children’s books and two autobiographical volumes.
  • Notable works: – Vagrants in the Valley, Once Upon a Monsoon Time, Angry River, Strangers in the Night, All Roads Lead to Ganga, Tales of Fosterganj, Leopard on the Mountain, Too Much Trouble, The Night Train at Deoli, Time stops at Shamli, and Our trees still grow in Dehra.

Achievements of Ruskin Bond:-

  • John Llewellyn Rhys Prize -1957
  • Sahitya Akademi Award – 1992
  • Padma Shri – 1999
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – 2012
  • Sahitya Akademi’s Bal Sahitya Puraskar – 2012
  • Padma Bhushan – 2014

Also Read:

India Tops Global Internet Shutdowns in 2023