The Prime Minister inaugurated the 2550th Bhagwan Mahaveer Nirvana Mahotsav on the auspicious occasion of Mahaveer Jayanti at Bharat Mandapam in New Delhi.

More on news

  • The Government of India issued a commemorative stamp and a coin to mark the 2550th Nirvana Mahotsav of Lord Mahavir.

Mahavir Jayanti

  • It is also known as Mahavir Janma Kalyanak, and is the auspicious celebration of the day when Trishla Mata gave birth to Lord Mahavir. 
  • We celebrate it on the Trayodashi Tithi (thirteenth day) of the Shukla Paksha (bright half)  of the Indian month Chaitra.

About Lord Mahavira

  • Lord Mahavira (meaning the Great Hero) was born in 599 BCE in Kundagram near Vaishali (located in the northern Indian state of Bihar).
  • He was the 24th and the last ‘Thirthankara’(Teacher) of Jainism.
  • He is renowned as Lord Mahavira for his exceptional control over his senses. Seeking truth and spiritual freedom, he went on to attain Nirvana at the age of 72 years.

About Jainism

  • Jainism is an Indian religion emphasizing non-violence (ahimsa) towards all living beings. It advocates a path to spiritual liberation (moksha) through self-discipline, ethical conduct, and non-injury.

Jain philosophy

Jain philosophy can be described in various ways, but the most acceptable tradition is to describe it in terms of the seven tattvas (fundamental principles).

  • Jiva (Soul): The living, conscious entity.
  • Ajiva (Non-living substance): Everything besides the soul.
  • Asrava (Influx of Karma): The inflow of karmic particles due to actions.
  • Bandha (Bondage of Karma): Attachment of karmic particles to the soul.
  • Samvara (Stoppage of Influx): Stopping the inflow of new karma.
  • Nirjara (Gradual Removal of Karma): Shedding accumulated karma.
  • Moksha (Liberation): Ultimate liberation from karma, achieving complete freedom.

Sects of Jainism

  • Jains are divided into two major sects


  • They believe rejected clothing as part of their renunciation of all worldly attachments. They are thus ‘clothed’ – ambara – in ‘the directions’ or ‘the sky’ – dik or dig. The sect is therefore known as Digambara, from the Sanskrit phrase meaning ‘sky-clad’. Only full (male) monks – munis – go naked, as it is recognized as a test of complete detachment.
  • Considered a more austere sect, with a smaller following compared to Svetambara.


  • “White-clad” is a Sanskrit term used to describe the practice of wearing white robes by both male and female mendicants.
  • The larger of the two major sects, with a wider global presence.

Also Read:

NOTTO-ID for Organ Transplants